Parkrun #35 – not quite a PB but close!

2016-05-28 09.35.05

Look at me all happy because I thought I’d got a PB…!

I woke up unusually early for a Saturday and was wide awake, so I decided to lace up my trainers and go to parkrun for the first time since Christmas (well, as a runner – I’ve volunteered a couple of times since then)!

As I’ve been training for the marathon my average pace has got quite slow, so my target for the next few weeks, before my next 10k race in June, is to try and get quicker again. I’d forgotten it was the last Saturday of the month, which at Arrow Valley parkrun means it’s Pacer Week – perfect!

I lined up behind the 26 minute pacer, which was rather optimistic I thought, since my PB (or so I remembered!) was 26:36. Nevertheless, off we went and although she got a bit ahead of me I managed to keep her in sight. Turns out she was doing too good a job as I crossed the finish line (by my watch) in 25:50!! Hurrah! No parkruns for months and I pulled a PB out of the bag! Or so I thought…

A few hours later my phone beeped with the all-important official parkrun time. “Lisa, your time in position 126 today at Arrow Valley parkrun was 25:54. Well done…service powered by aql”

Grr, 4 seconds slower than my watch…ok…but hang on, where was the “Well done on a new PB” bit?

I scrolled back through my messages and to my surprise, I found one from almost a year ago to the day congratulating me on a PB of 25:48. Oooops!! Must’ve forgotten about that one!! Oh well, I got PBs on 3 out of 4 Strava segments, so I’ll have to be content with that for now!

https://www.strava.com/activities/590539454/embed/11a02a09d84904bd6d8a21244e39b1653318c7b1

Leave a Reply

